Tao 51/Day 254 “Every being in the universe is an expression of the Tao.”

A flawless Valentine’s afternoon and the nearby Winter Olympics have me fired up to face the magic path once more.  Again I envision ‘going long’, but it’s probably not a good idea, as I’m still wrestling with a late-winter head cold…Three vignettes soon visit my moving meditation.  First, I recall awakening last night feeling a touch of dread over how I’ve disappointed people, especially my parents, over the years.  While a more ‘ego-ed’ me might have mentally begun running through all the ways such disappointment was unjustified, I instead found myself this time simply whispering, “I’m sorry.  It was the best I could do under the circumstances.  I love you” – and immediately returning to a happy slumber.  The second awareness regards a story a friend shared with me not long ago about an amazing Hawaiian healer.  This gifted doctor works with those suffering in mental institutions. His primary healing work consists entirely of sitting in a room by himself, focusing on a particular patient, and repeating, “I’m sorry.  I love you” over and over and over.  His documented success rate for returning even the most desperate cases to sanity is astonishing…My third awareness revolves around Jesus’ famous statement at his crucifixion, “Father, forgive them, for they know not what they do”.  I think about how, just prior to that prayer, one of “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?” was uttered, and marvel at the spiritual distance traveled in such a short time under such extreme duress…”Every being in the universe is an expression of the Tao”.  That realization is how a master moves from a feeling of abandonment to a realization of unity regardless of circumstances.  Notions of right and wrong don’t even enter the equation.  We don’t know what we are doing.  We may think we do, but we don’t.  And, even then, we are still an expression of the Tao.  How can there be any other response in such a world but “I’m sorry.  I love you” -?  That’s what we all want to feel.  That’s what we all want to remember.  That’s what can heal another’s pain, as well as my own.  It’s the highest expression of love I have to supply that realization in the midst of another’s ‘forgetting who they are’.  And it’s theirs to supply to me when I forget.  “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?” is able to be transformed into “Father, forgive them, for they know not what they do” when Jesus ‘remembers’ who he is.  Such remembering naturally produces an upwelling of compassion for all those who keep forgetting, either temporarily or continually.  – And this doesn’t always need to be communicated verbally to those being loved in this way.  The Hawaiian healer is not even in the room of those he is weeping over.  Jesus isn’t on a loudspeaker making his pronouncement.  It’s often far better for me to keep my mouth shut, deal with my own thoughts and feelings of being ‘wronged’ by affirming that I too am an expression of the Tao, affirm the conflict and the ‘perpetrator’ are also expressions of that same ultimate Reality, and watch the power a silent realization has to disperse ‘lower energy’ far better than any conversation or confrontation I might have formerly depended on in order to be ‘heard’…This Valentine’s Day, this Olympic season, this springtime-once-again, I say – whether to my children’s childish ‘suffering’, to my partner’s grown-up suffering, to my parents’ suffering, to my own ego’s suffering, to any sense of victimization I encounter, to any sense of inferiority, or power, or grief, or rage, or entitlement, or political expediency, or sins by any categorization, “I’m sorry.  I love you.  You are an expression of Reality, of the Tao.”  Once that realization takes hold, there is no limit to what we can be, together.

Leave a Reply

